Phil Mickelson's frustration boils over in shocking rule breach

Posted June 17, 2018

Phil Mickelson says he was happy to take a two-shot penalty when he bizarrely made a decision to putt a moving ball on the 13 hole at the US Open on Saturday. From just over 18 feet, he hit his bogey effort well past the hole and then went John Daly on everyone.

Afterwards, Mickelson - who is now on +17 after three rounds at Shinnecock Hills - says he has long wanted to give up on a hole by hitting a moving ball.

A loophole that some will consider against the general ethos of the game, Mickelson confirmed that there were "multiple times he wanted to do it" before today's incident on the 13th. He then said: "This is my last U.S. Open - ever".

It's the type of thing you'd see a stroppy youngster perform, frustrated at their putt not going into the hole. "I think he just snapped at how bad his speed was on that putt". He's never won a U.S. Open, but now he has etched himself a place in tournament lore - for all the wrong reasons. He had those four consecutive bogeys before a par at the 12th.

Mickelson admitted post-round he hit the ball prematurely deliberately to stop the ball going off the green again, although did that put him a better position?

"I don't mean any disrespect and if that's the way people took it, I apologise to them".

A player must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving.

He was immediately issued with a two shot penalty for his actions and he's surely longing for the clubhouse now.

Allen reports that the USGA are satisfied with levying a two stroke penalty.

History suggests the 33-year-old is an odds-on favourite to become only the second player after Tiger Woods to win while ranked world number one, with five of the previous six players to hold a halfway lead of four shots or more going on to win.