Sixers snubbed in National Basketball Association rookie of the year vote

Posted July 01, 2017

The All-Rookie team announcement comes hours before the NBA Awards in which Saric and Embiid are both finalists for Rookie of the Year alongside Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcolm Brogdon.

Saric (12.8 points) was second to Embiid in rookie scoring.

For the first time in his career, Draymond Green took home the Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award after a remarkable season that ended in his second NBA Championship since entering the league in 2012.

Brogdon beat out Philadelphia's Joel Embiid and Dario Saric. He was sidelined for two seasons with injuries, and finally played this season in the National Basketball Association. With Markelle Fultz and Ben Simmons rookies next season, a Sixers player has a good chance to win the award a year from now. Malcolm Brogdon is your 2017 NBA Rookie of the Year.

All three semifinalists were named to the NBA All-Rookie Team for the 2016-17 year. He averaged 10.2 points, 4.2 assists and 1.1 steals per game as a part-time starter for the Bucks.

The Oklahoma City All-Star joined Oscar Robertson as the only players to average a triple-double for an entire season, leading the Thunder into the playoffs after Kevin Durant left for Golden State.

But Embiid appeared in fewer than 40 percent of the Sixers' games and less than 20 percent of the team's total minutes during the 2016-17 campaign.

"I just think it's an important message for people to see, and it can be done", the newly minted ROY added later on at a press conference.

Those numbers explain more, but still struggle to show the full impact each player had on his team.

The Clippers' Chris Paul and Houston's Patrick Beverley were the two guards on the first team. Playing alongside Giannis Antetokounmpo, he's going to be an integral piece moving forward in Milwaukee's backcourt. There were four global players on the first team for the first time in the award's history.

The NBA All-Rookie Second Team consists of Denver's Jamal Murray (123 points), Boston's Jaylen Brown (106 points), Phoenix's Marquese Chriss (91 points), Los Angeles Lakers' Brandon Ingram (83 points), and Ferrell (63 points).