IPL 10: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Gujarat Lions to qualify for play-offs

Posted May 14, 2017

Siraj was awarded the player of the match for his four-wicket haul.

The wash-up: Was this the last match Gujarat will ever play? Warner and Shankar brought up the 50-run stand in just 40-balls.

Skipper David Warner and fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan, the top two run-getters this IPL, have nearly 1,000 runs between them in 12 matches while Bhuvneshwar Kumar with 23 wickets is way ahead of the field. Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid mesmerised the Lions, claiming three for 19 to restrict the visitors to 135.

Among the four hopefuls are Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), whose match with already-out Gujarat Lions (GL) could be a hard one to deal with, since the rivals are playing without any pressure. From 120 for 1, suddenly Lions slumped to 120 for 4 and Sunrisers took full use of the opportunity that they got.

With 15 points from seven wins and five losses in 13 games, Sunrisers are now placed at the fourth spot, while the Lions are already out of contention with only eight points from 13 matches.

This consistency from the captain has been the key to Hyderabad success but Warner said that the support he gets from the team helps him perform. The last 10 wickets fell for a mere 43 runs.

On the other hand, Bhuvneshwar Kumar strengthened his grip on the Purple Cap as he picked up two wickets at the end of the innings.

Both Smith and Kishan have batted better when they've been asked to open the innings this season and it was no different here as they added 111 runs from just 65 deliveries as the Lions looked like they would pile on a huge total.

Suresh Raina: This is the first time in 10 seasons of the IPL that Suresh Raina won't feature in the play-offs. The game is about to be played at Green Park stadium, which is situated in Kanpur.

Mohammed Siraj bowled a memorable spell of 4/32 in his 4 overs. Batsman Deepak Hooda may come in to replace all-rounder Vijay Shankar. They sure could have used Andrew Tye here.

Besides Jadeja, the pace battery comprising Basil Thampi, James Faulkner, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pradeep Sangwan have all failed to rise to the occasion for the side.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (C), Tanmay Agarwal, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Ben Cutting, Shikhar Dhawan, Eklavya Dwivedi, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Siddharth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ben Laughlin, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammed Siraj, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (wk), Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Barinder Sran, Pravin Tambe, Kane Williamson and Yuvraj Singh.