Midway Elementary named National Blue Ribbon School

Posted September 29, 2016

Smith Elementary School has been named a 2016 National Blue Ribbon School.

Here are the other four Louisiana Blue Ribbon Winners: Avoyelles Public Charter School in Mansura; Anacoco High School in Anacoco; Sixth Ward Middle School in Thibodaux; and North DeSoto High School in Stonewall. National Blue Ribbon Schools must rank in the top 15 percent in their state on student assessment results.

IV Bray called Wednesday's announcement for the Gwinnett School of Math Science and Technology a "fantastic honor" not just for the school, but for the Gwinnett district.

Schools are nominated for the award by the state department of education, and then complete a comprehensive application about school practices.

279 public schools from across the nation received the award.

Pisgah was invited to submit a portfolio to be considered for a Blue Ribbon Award based on the school's performance on state tests, according to a news release from the county school district. "I didn't believe it until we got it today".

GCPS CEO/Superintendent J. Alvin Wilbanks also said it was a tremendous honor for the students and staff.

Superintendent Tres Settle says the school is being recognized for their academic growth and, "their determination to eliminate achievement gaps within student subgroups".

"I am extremely proud of Pisgah for achieving such a prestigious award".

The Department of Education will honor the schools at a ceremony on November 7-8 in Washington, D.C. "This is a testament to a school community's hard work and desire to be the best it can be". "Pisgah is a wonderful school and community filled with very dedicated staff, hard-working students, and supportive parents", said Pisgah Elementary Principal Jeanann Yates.